Just In: Why More Than 296 Legislators Will Not Attend President Uhuru’s Address Today


President Uhuru Muigai Kenyatta is today expected to give a State of The Nation Address at the Parliament Buildings, where he will address a Joint Seating of Parliament (Senate and National Assembly), which will be led by speakers of both houses, Hon Kenneth Lusaka and Hon Justin Muturi.

The Senate comprises of 67 members, 47 elected while the rest are nominated, while the National Assembly comprises of 349 members, 290 being elected MPs, 47 being elected Women Representatives while 12 are nominated to the house.

This will be his 8th such address and constitutionally his last, as his term will come to an end in August next year, after the General Elections.

According to KTN which is on location at Parliament Buildings, only a maximum of 120 out of the 416 legislators will be allowed to be physically present for the address, due to Covid-19 containment measures, while other leaders will have to watch a live broadcast from wherever they will be.

According to State House, the address is expected to start at 2 p.m. President Uhuru Kenyatta is expected to touch on matters economy, the drought situation in some parts of the country, development record in the past year and ongoing projects, security and Covid-19, among others.

Recommended Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *